Refused warranty claim.

ralph18

Hi all newbie here to forum, long time lurker, first time poster.

I obtained a 2017 brand new Audi A4 on contract hire during April 2017 The vehicle has covered less than 10,000 miles however the front brake discs have become quite badly scored at around approx 9k miles (please see photographs attached).

I understand that under the Audi standard new car warranty terms and conditions, submissions are not considered for brake discs and/or pads after 6 months / 6,000 miles however given the usage and current age and mileage of the car it would seem as this could be a potential defect with the parts and/or a fitting error and not a general wear and tear issue. Something which I'm very disappointed with and therefore feel this should be taken care of under warranty or under a gesture of goodwill. This is not the quality that I would expect from an Audi.

Having monitored the condition of the brakes, today I've had the vehicle inspected by a local Audi dealer and they have just called me to say that the damage is wear and tear in their opinion and therefore I'd have to cover the cost of replacement myself, to say I'm disappointed with this is an understatement. They didn't really give much more of an explanation other than the technician has said it could be down to number of factors such as environment etc. My point is that the brake components should be manufactured to operate within this parameters, 10,000miles for genuine parts on a brand new vehicle is very very poor to say the least and to say I'm disappointed is an understatement.  Note that they did not state weather they had check the parts for manufacturing defects or fitting problem(for which the parts would be covered under warranty should this be apparent). I presume they simply did a visual inspection?

Not being satisfied with the response, I escalated the issue to the Branch manager, however they did not budge on their position. Customer service overall has been poor.